By default, new page versions are created when:
It works this way to allow you to track Talk activity in page history and restore removed Talk discussions.
You can disable the creation of page versions on Talk actions. To do that:
When the creation of page versions on Talk actions is disabled, you will not be able to restore removed Talk discussions or track Talk inline comments and suggestions in page history.